RatesniffersRATESNIFFERS

New South Wales Home Loans, September 2026

Compare owner-occupier home loans for New South Wales. Check each product’s interest rate, comparison rate, fees and eligibility, then explore the grants and concessions for buyers in Sydney and regional NSW.

RBA cash rate 4.35%(effective 12 August 2026)·As at ·4,062 products·85+ Australian lenders
About these dates

Live rates updated 21 September 2026. Verified snapshot dated 27 August 2026 is used only for promoted 80% LVR claims, not as a second table date. Live figures change as lenders publish. The verified snapshot is the dated 80% LVR matrix used for promoted claims.

Sorted by comparison rate8 products shown
Hume Bank logo
Hume BankmyBlue Deposit Scheme Variable O/Occ P+I (up to 98% LVR)
VariableOffsetRedraw
Interest
5.99%p.a.
Comparison*
6.00%p.a.
Est. repayment
$2,995
LVR not stated
P&N Bank logo
P&N BankOffset Variable HL LVR<60
VariableOffsetRedraw
Interest
6.19%p.a.
Comparison*
6.20%p.a.
Est. repayment
$3,059
LVR not stated
Credit Union SA logo
Credit Union SA3-Year Fixed XL Home Loan Package
3y FixedRedraw
Interest
5.99%p.a.
Comparison*
6.31%p.a.
Est. repayment
$2,995
LVR ≤80%
Bank of Sydney logo
Bank of SydneyBOS Basic Home Loan Owner Occupied
VariableRedraw
Interest
6.19%p.a.
Comparison*
6.31%p.a.
Est. repayment
$3,059
LVR 60 to 80%
Bank of Melbourne logo
Bank of MelbourneBasic Variable Home Loan
VariableRedraw
Interest
6.39%p.a.
Comparison*
6.75%p.a.
Est. repayment
$3,124
LVR 70 to 80%
BankSA logo
BankSAVariable Home Loan with Offset
VariableOffsetRedraw
Interest
6.39%p.a.
Comparison*
6.75%p.a.
Est. repayment
$3,124
LVR 70 to 80%
*Important Information and Comparison Rate Warning

WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is based on a loan of $150,000 over a term of 25 years.

The information provided on this site is general in nature and does not take into account your objectives, financial situation or needs. Before acting on any information, consider whether it is appropriate for you and read the relevant Credit Guide and lender disclosures.

Buying in NSW

What changes when you compare home loans in New South Wales

The lenders on this page price nationally, your interest rate is the same buying in Sydney as it is anywhere else. What does change is the cash going in. First home buyers in NSW can combine the $10,000 First Home Owner Grant with the state stamp duty concession (full exemption on new or existing homes ≤ $800,000; concessional rates from $800,000 to $1,000,000) and the federal Home Guarantee Scheme cap of $1,500,000 (Sydney + regional centres) / $800,000 (rest of NSW). Those three together can shift your minimum deposit by tens of thousands without ever touching the rate column above.

Buying to live in yourself? See New South Wales owner-occupier home loans. Buying to rent out? See New South Wales investor home loans for the loan features and rate spread specific to landlords.

Shopping by deposit size instead? New South Wales owner-occupier rates are broken out at 80% LVR (no LMI), 90% LVR (LMI required), 95% LVR (Home Guarantee Scheme eligible), and New South Wales investor rates the same way at 80% LVR (no LMI), 90% LVR (LMI required), 95% LVR (Home Guarantee Scheme eligible).

Source: Revenue NSW · Verified September 2026. Cap data from Housing Australia. See also our stamp duty calculator.

NSW first home buyer concessions at a glance

First home owner grant$10,000
Stamp duty concessionFull exemption on new or existing homes ≤ $800,000; concessional rates from $800,000 to $1,000,000.
Home Guarantee Scheme cap$1,500,000 (Sydney + regional centres) / $800,000 (rest of NSW)

How can I compare home loan rates in New South Wales?

Compare the interest rate and comparison rate for the same loan, then check fees, repayment type and features such as offset or redraw. A comparison rate helps compare costs, but the loan amount, term and eligibility also matter. Use the repayment calculator to explore repayments for your loan amount and term.

Newcastle and Lake Macquarie home loans

Newcastle and Lake Macquarie are two of the few places in regional NSW that get the same, higher Home Guarantee Scheme price cap as Sydney: $1,500,000, rather than the $800,000 cap that applies across the rest of regional NSW. A first home buyer in the Hunter region can use the federal 5% deposit scheme up to that higher threshold with no Lenders Mortgage Insurance. Refinancing works the same way wherever you live in NSW too, lenders price a loan the same regardless of postcode, so a Newcastle refinance sees the exact same comparison-rate table above as a Sydney one.

Source: Housing Australia, regional centre price caps. Verified 2026-08-25.

Comparison rates for first home buyers in NSW, 2026

A first home buyer can compare interest rates, comparison rates and fees in the table above. A listed rate does not confirm eligibility for a particular loan or first home buyer program. The first home buyer loans page covers the 5% Deposit Scheme, LMI, genuine savings and guarantor options that apply everywhere.

What is specific to NSW is the cost that sits around the loan. Under the First Home Buyers Assistance Scheme, a new or existing home valued at $800,000 or less is exempt from transfer duty, and a home valued above $800,000 and under $1,000,000 gets a concessional rate; vacant land is exempt to $350,000 and concessional to under $450,000. You must move in within 12 months of settlement and live there for at least 12 continuous months. The First Home Owner (New Homes) Grant is $10,000 for a newly built, off-the-plan or substantially renovated home priced at no more than $600,000, or a house-and-land or owner-builder package with a total cost of no more than $750,000. For the 5% Deposit Scheme, the NSW price cap depends on the postcode, so check it on the scheme's price cap checker rather than relying on a quoted figure. The stamp duty calculator applies the NSW bands to your price.

NSW-based lenders on the panel, each with its own page and rates in the table above: Newcastle Permanent, IMB Bank, Regional Australia Bank, Hume Bank and The Mutual Bank. A NSW address does not earn a different rate from them either; their pricing is ranked on the same comparison-rate basis as every other lender.

Sources: Revenue NSW, First Home Buyers Assistance Scheme; Revenue NSW, First Home Owner (New Homes) Grant. Both verified 3 September 2026.

Federal scheme · Available nationwide

Australian Government 5% Deposit Scheme, no LMI

Buy a home with as little as a 5% deposit without paying Lenders Mortgage Insurance, the federal government guarantees the rest. Since 1 October 2025 the scheme has unlimited places, no income caps, and significantly higher property caps. The property must be your principal place of residence (no investors).

First home buyers
5% deposit, no LMI
Scheme places
Unlimited, no waiting list
Single parents
2% deposit, no LMI

Source: firsthomebuyers.gov.au · Verified September 2026

Your state, pick to see grants & concessions
State schemes · New South Wales

First home buyer benefits in New South Wales

First Home Owner Grant (FHOG)
$10,000, Buying or building a new home valued ≤ $600,000, or new house-and-land package ≤ $750,000.
Stamp duty concession
Full exemption on new or existing homes ≤ $800,000; concessional rates from $800,000 to $1,000,000.
5% Deposit Scheme property cap
Maximum property price for the federal 5%-deposit scheme in New South Wales: $1,500,000 (Sydney + regional centres) / $800,000 (rest of NSW).
Source: Revenue NSW · Verified September 2026. Grant amounts and property caps change, confirm with the linked source before applying.
Want help stacking these schemes for your scenario? Talk to a broker →

New South Wales home loan FAQs

What are the lowest home loan rates in New South Wales?

Compare the interest rate and comparison rate for each product in the New South Wales table, along with fees, repayment type and eligibility. The lowest advertised rate is not necessarily the lowest total cost for your loan. Grants and concessions for NSW have separate eligibility requirements.

What is the First Home Owner Grant in NSW?

NSW's First Home Owner Grant is $10,000. Buying or building a new home valued ≤ $600,000, or new house-and-land package ≤ $750,000. It's paid in addition to any rate you secure on the comparison table above, see Revenue NSW for the current eligibility detail.

Do first home buyers pay stamp duty in NSW?

Full exemption on new or existing homes ≤ $800,000; concessional rates from $800,000 to $1,000,000. These concessions can be worth more than a small difference in interest rate, so factor them into your total cost, not just the headline rate. Authority: Revenue NSW.

What is the Home Guarantee Scheme property price cap in NSW?

$1,500,000 (Sydney + regional centres) / $800,000 (rest of NSW) Under the federal Home Guarantee Scheme, eligible buyers in NSW can purchase under that cap with as little as a 5% deposit and no Lenders Mortgage Insurance, the government guarantees the difference. It works with any lender on the scheme's panel, including several on the table above.

What are the comparison rates for first home buyers in NSW in 2026?

First home buyers can compare interest rates, comparison rates and fees in the table above. Eligibility for a loan and for government support are separate checks. NSW offers a transfer duty exemption on homes valued at $800,000 or less, the concession up to $1,000,000 and the $10,000 First Home Owner Grant on eligible new homes, per Revenue NSW.

Can a NSW first home buyer use the 5% Deposit Scheme and the NSW duty exemption together?

They are separate programs with separate eligibility tests. The Australian Government 5% Deposit Scheme is federal and is arranged through a participating lender, with a price cap set by postcode. The First Home Buyers Assistance Scheme is run by Revenue NSW and turns on the property value, the buyer never having owned residential property in Australia, and living in the home for at least 12 continuous months. Meeting one does not confirm the other, so check both before you exchange contracts.

What is the Home Guarantee Scheme price cap in Newcastle?

Newcastle and Lake Macquarie get the $1,500,000 Home Guarantee Scheme cap, the same higher cap that applies in Sydney, rather than the $800,000 cap that applies across the rest of regional NSW. A first home buyer here can use the federal 5% deposit scheme up to that threshold with no Lenders Mortgage Insurance.

Do home loan rates differ between Sydney and regional NSW?

No. The lenders on this page price nationally, so a buyer in regional NSW is offered exactly the same rate as one in Sydney. What does differ by location is eligibility for the Home Guarantee Scheme's regional-centre price cap, and in some states, a region-specific first home buyer program, both covered above.

Book a free rate review