RatesniffersRATESNIFFERS

Westpac vs Macquarie Bank home loans September 2026

Ratesniffers rates checked 27 August 2026. On the exact owner-occupier principal-and-interest row at 80% LVR, Macquarie Bank is sharper on comparison rate by 44 basis points: 6.09% p.a. (6.11% comparison rate) against 6.49% p.a. (6.55% comparison rate) for Westpac. Interest rate and comparison rate come from the same product row.

Rates checked 27 August 2026 · checked daily against each lender's current published pricing · machine-readable at /rates.json

Westpac vs Macquarie Bank at a glance

Westpac and Macquarie Bank on the standard owner-occupier principal-and-interest scenario at 80% LVR, from the matrix snapshot dated 27 August 2026. Fee, feature and policy rows carry their own verification date on each lender page.
FeatureWestpacMacquarie Bank
Compared productFlexi First : Our lowest online variable home loan rate (Owner Occupied)Macquarie Basic Home Loan
Variable rate and comparison rate6.49% p.a. (6.55% comparison rate)6.09% p.a. (6.11% comparison rate)
3-year fixed rate and comparison rate6.64% p.a. (6.91% comparison rate)6.14% p.a. (6.27% comparison rate)
Scope of the compared rateOwner-occupier, principal and interest, 80% LVROwner-occupier, principal and interest, 80% LVR
Published LVR scopeLends from a 5% deposit with insurance on principal and interest loans, up to 95% for eligible applicantsThe sharpest new-purchase tier is priced at up to 60% of property value
OffsetAvailable on at least one tracked productThe Offset Home Loan carries the offset account and the Basic Home Loan does not
RedrawAvailable on at least one tracked productAvailable on at least one tracked product
Package fee$395 a year for the Premier Advantage PackageNo package fee, and $248 a year on the Offset Home Loan
First home buyer schemeListed as a participating lender, 5% Deposit SchemeNot stated by the lender, so no claim is made
Products tracked8080
Approved cashback registerUnavailableUnavailable

Promoted rate comparisons require exact owner-occupier principal-and-interest rows at 80% LVR from the snapshot dated 27 August 2026, on both sides. “Unavailable” means a two-sided comparison cannot be substantiated, not that a lender has no product or no such feature.

*Important Information and Comparison Rate Warning

WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is based on a loan of $150,000 over a term of 25 years.

The information provided on this site is general in nature and does not take into account your objectives, financial situation or needs. Before acting on any information, consider whether it is appropriate for you and read the relevant Credit Guide and lender disclosures.

Is Westpac or Macquarie Bank cheaper?

As at 27 August 2026, Macquarie Bank is the cheaper of these two products on comparison rate at 80% LVR for owner-occupier principal and interest: 6.09% p.a. (6.11% comparison rate) against 6.49% p.a. (6.55% comparison rate). On a $500,000 loan over 30 years the headline gap is about $130 a month before fees. Approved pricing still varies by file.

Westpac versus Macquarie Bank on fees

Fees as at 2 September 2026. Westpac lists $395 a year for the Premier Advantage Package. Macquarie Bank lists no package fee, and $248 a year on the Offset Home Loan. The comparison rate folds ongoing fees into the figure, so a sharper headline rate paired with a higher annual fee can finish behind a plainer loan.

Westpac versus Macquarie Bank for refinancing

Refinancing as at 2 September 2026. Westpac: the Premier Advantage Package waives Rocket Repay's $600 establishment fee and $8 monthly fee. Macquarie Bank: pre-approval is usually available within one business day and holds for 90 days. A refinance turns on the comparison rate, the exit and establishment costs on both sides and the LVR the new valuation lands you at.

Westpac versus Macquarie Bank for first home buyers

First home buyers, as at 2 September 2026. On the Australian Government 5% Deposit Scheme participating lender list, Westpac is listed and Macquarie Bank does not state its position. Eligibility rules and property price caps apply either way, and a lender that is not listed can still lend at a low deposit with lenders mortgage insurance payable.

Which suits an investor?

For an investor, as at 2 September 2026. Westpac: investors can take interest-only repayments for up to 15 years, capped at 80% of property value. Macquarie Bank: the investor range shows a highest tier of 90% LVR on principal and interest loans. Investor pricing, interest-only terms and LVR ceilings sit apart from the owner-occupier row this page compares.

Who should choose Westpac

Westpac tends to suit borrowers who want big-four scale and product breadth with an extended commitment to regional branch access, and those who might find a sharper deal from one of its other group brands (St.George, Bank of Melbourne or BankSA) depending on where they live. The comparison table above is the price check, and this section is the fit check.

Who should choose Macquarie Bank

Macquarie tends to suit refinancers and buyers with clean applications and deposits of 20% or more, where its pricing and turnaround are at their strongest. The comparison table above is the price check, and this section is the fit check. Features, service model and eligibility all move the outcome on a real file.

Head-to-heads that share a lender with this one: CommBank vs Westpac, Westpac vs ANZ, Westpac vs NAB. Full product detail sits on the Westpac and Macquarie Bank lender pages, with the candid write-ups on the Westpac review and the Macquarie Bank review.

Not sure which one fits your scenario?

Advertised rates aren’t always the rate a lender approves. Get the sharper of the two negotiated against your specific numbers, at no cost.

Compare my options

Westpac vs Macquarie Bank: frequently asked questions

Who has the lower home loan rate, Westpac or Macquarie Bank?

At 80% LVR as at 27 August 2026, Macquarie Bank is sharper on comparison rate by 44 basis points, at 6.09% p.a. (6.11% comparison rate) against 6.49% p.a. (6.55% comparison rate).

What's the difference between Westpac and Macquarie Bank home loans?

Beyond the rate, compare offset coverage, redraw rules, package fees, published LVR scope and deposit-scheme participation. The table above carries each of those where the fact has been verified against the lender's own documents, and reads "Unavailable" where it has not.

Does Westpac or Macquarie Bank charge a package fee?

Westpac lists $395 a year for the Premier Advantage Package. Macquarie Bank lists no package fee, and $248 a year on the Offset Home Loan. The comparison rate already folds ongoing fees into the figure, so weigh the annual fee against the headline rate rather than reading either on its own.

Can first home buyers use the 5% Deposit Scheme with Westpac or Macquarie Bank?

Westpac is listed as a participating lender for the Australian Government 5% Deposit Scheme. Macquarie Bank's own site does not state whether it participates, so no claim is made either way. The scheme's eligibility rules and property price caps apply regardless, and the current participating lender list is the primary check.

Do Westpac and Macquarie Bank both offer an offset account?

Westpac has an offset account on at least one tracked product. Macquarie Bank: the Offset Home Loan carries the offset account and the Basic Home Loan does not. Offset rules differ by product, so check the offset terms on the specific loan rather than at the brand level.

Is it worth switching from Westpac to Macquarie Bank?

It depends on the balance, the switching costs and the rate approved on the file. The exact 80% LVR comparison rates dated 27 August 2026 differ by 44 basis points. Weigh that against exit and establishment costs before deciding.

How often are Westpac and Macquarie Bank rates updated?

Promoted rate comparisons on this page use exact owner-occupier principal-and-interest rows at 80% LVR from the snapshot dated 27 August 2026, checked daily against each lender's current published pricing. Fee, feature and policy rows carry their own verification date and do not drive a rate winner.
Book a free rate review