RatesniffersRATESNIFFERS

Macquarie Bank vs ING home loans September 2026

Ratesniffers checked this pair on 27 August 2026, and Macquarie Bank and ING cannot be given a two-sided rate winner: ING has no exact owner-occupier principal-and-interest row at 80% LVR in that snapshot. This page therefore publishes no rate, no spread and no winner, and compares fees, features and policy only.

Rates checked 27 August 2026 · checked daily against each lender's current published pricing · machine-readable at /rates.json

Macquarie Bank vs ING at a glance

Macquarie Bank and ING on the standard owner-occupier principal-and-interest scenario at 80% LVR, from the matrix snapshot dated 27 August 2026. Fee, feature and policy rows carry their own verification date on each lender page.
FeatureMacquarie BankING
Compared productUnavailableUnavailable
Variable rate and comparison rateUnavailableUnavailable
3-year fixed rate and comparison rateUnavailableUnavailable
Scope of the compared rateUnavailableUnavailable
Published LVR scopeThe sharpest new-purchase tier is priced at up to 60% of property valueLends to 95% for owner-occupiers and 90% for investors, with insurance above 80%
OffsetThe Offset Home Loan carries the offset account and the Basic Home Loan does notThe Orange Advantage offset works only while the loan is linked to an ING Orange Everyday account
RedrawAvailable on at least one tracked productAvailable on at least one tracked product
Package feeNo package fee, and $248 a year on the Offset Home Loan$299 a year on the Orange Advantage, nil on the Mortgage Simplifier
First home buyer schemeNot stated by the lender, so no claim is madeNot on the participating lender list when checked
Products tracked8080
Approved cashback registerUnavailableUnavailable

Promoted rate comparisons require exact owner-occupier principal-and-interest rows at 80% LVR from the snapshot dated 27 August 2026, on both sides. “Unavailable” means a two-sided comparison cannot be substantiated, not that a lender has no product or no such feature.

*Important Information and Comparison Rate Warning

WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is based on a loan of $150,000 over a term of 25 years.

The information provided on this site is general in nature and does not take into account your objectives, financial situation or needs. Before acting on any information, consider whether it is appropriate for you and read the relevant Credit Guide and lender disclosures.

Is Macquarie Bank or ING cheaper?

No cheaper-of-the-two answer is published for Macquarie Bank and ING. ING has no exact owner-occupier principal-and-interest row at 80% LVR in the snapshot dated 27 August 2026, so a matched comparison cannot be made without guessing a number. The fee, feature and policy comparisons below are unaffected and stay verified.

Macquarie Bank versus ING on fees

Fees as at 2 September 2026. Macquarie Bank lists no package fee, and $248 a year on the Offset Home Loan. ING lists $299 a year on the Orange Advantage, nil on the Mortgage Simplifier. The comparison rate folds ongoing fees into the figure, so a sharper headline rate paired with a higher annual fee can finish behind a plainer loan.

Macquarie Bank versus ING for refinancing

Refinancing as at 2 September 2026. Macquarie Bank: pre-approval is usually available within one business day and holds for 90 days. ING: the no-annual-fee Mortgage Simplifier is advertised at 80% of property value or less, from $150,000. A refinance turns on the comparison rate, the exit and establishment costs on both sides and the LVR the new valuation lands you at.

Macquarie Bank versus ING for first home buyers

First home buyers, as at 2 September 2026. On the Australian Government 5% Deposit Scheme participating lender list, Macquarie Bank does not state its position and ING was not listed when checked. Eligibility rules and property price caps apply either way, and a lender that is not listed can still lend at a low deposit with lenders mortgage insurance payable.

Which suits an investor?

For an investor, as at 2 September 2026. Macquarie Bank: the investor range shows a highest tier of 90% LVR on principal and interest loans. ING: lends to 90% of property value for investors, with insurance where applicable. Investor pricing, interest-only terms and LVR ceilings sit apart from the owner-occupier row this page compares.

Who should choose Macquarie Bank

Macquarie tends to suit refinancers and buyers with clean applications and deposits of 20% or more, where its pricing and turnaround are at their strongest. The comparison table above is the price check, and this section is the fit check. Features, service model and eligibility all move the outcome on a real file.

Who should choose ING

ING tends to suit borrowers comfortable doing everything digitally who want consistently sharp pricing without paying for a branch network they never use, and specifically owner-occupiers paying principal and interest with a deposit of 20% or more, which is the gate on its no-annual-fee Mortgage Simplifier. The comparison table above is the price check, and this section is the fit check.

Head-to-heads that share a lender with this one: Ubank vs ING, Ubank vs Macquarie Bank, CommBank vs Macquarie Bank. Full product detail sits on the Macquarie Bank and ING lender pages, with the candid write-ups on the Macquarie Bank review and the ING review.

Not sure which one fits your scenario?

Advertised rates aren’t always the rate a lender approves. Get the sharper of the two negotiated against your specific numbers, at no cost.

Compare my options

Macquarie Bank vs ING: frequently asked questions

Who has the lower home loan rate, Macquarie Bank or ING?

The exact 80% LVR snapshot dated 27 August 2026 does not contain matching owner-occupier principal-and-interest rows for both lenders, so no rate winner is published.

What's the difference between Macquarie Bank and ING home loans?

Beyond the rate, compare offset coverage, redraw rules, package fees, published LVR scope and deposit-scheme participation. The table above carries each of those where the fact has been verified against the lender's own documents, and reads "Unavailable" where it has not.

Does Macquarie Bank or ING charge a package fee?

Macquarie Bank lists no package fee, and $248 a year on the Offset Home Loan. ING lists $299 a year on the Orange Advantage, nil on the Mortgage Simplifier. The comparison rate already folds ongoing fees into the figure, so weigh the annual fee against the headline rate rather than reading either on its own.

Can first home buyers use the 5% Deposit Scheme with Macquarie Bank or ING?

Macquarie Bank's own site does not state whether it participates, so no claim is made either way. ING was not on the scheme's participating lender list when it was checked. The scheme's eligibility rules and property price caps apply regardless, and the current participating lender list is the primary check.

Do Macquarie Bank and ING both offer an offset account?

Macquarie Bank: the Offset Home Loan carries the offset account and the Basic Home Loan does not. ING: the Orange Advantage offset works only while the loan is linked to an ING Orange Everyday account. Offset rules differ by product, so check the offset terms on the specific loan rather than at the brand level.

Is it worth switching from Macquarie Bank to ING?

It depends on the numbers on the file, not the advertised rate. Macquarie Bank and ING both price by loan size, deposit and income, so compare the comparison rate and the features that matter to how a loan is actually used.

How often are Macquarie Bank and ING rates updated?

Promoted rate comparisons on this page use exact owner-occupier principal-and-interest rows at 80% LVR from the snapshot dated 27 August 2026, checked daily against each lender's current published pricing. Fee, feature and policy rows carry their own verification date and do not drive a rate winner.
Book a free rate review